Skip to main content

Demonstration School Records

Identifier: UR-013

Scope and Contents

This collection includes records and photographs taken from the Demonstration School just prior to its renovation into Turner Hall. Records include administrative and teacher records, as well as School plans.


  • Creation: 1938 - 2004

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research. Box C509 is closed due to confidential records.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use

All unpublished materials are protected by copyright held by Mississippi University for Women. Permission to publish or reproduce must be requested in writing to the University Archivist. Published materials may also be protected by copyright, and the user must locate and request permission from copyright holder to publish or reproduce.

Biographical / Historical

The Demonstration School was originally an initiative of, and housed within, the Normal Department, which became Education and Psychology in 1911. Annie Fant of the Education Dept. requested that the president fund "an experimental class composed of at least the first two grades of the elementary School " for training education students. In 1907-1908 the Model School was founded composed of 3 grades and 30 students. In 1909 it was renamed the Practice School . In 1929, the Demonstration School building was constructed on 11th Street, which is now a Mississippi Landmark and is being renovated for use by the College of Nursing. In FY 2001 all positions eliminated in budget but $60,000 contractual fund added (possibly positions transferred to Columbus Public School s). In FY 2005 the School was discontinued.

Principals: 1907-1912: Annie Faust (Director) 1910-1912: Sadie Chiles (Co-director with Faust) 1912-1914: Mary Austin (Director) 1912-1913: Jimmie Youngblood (Co-director with Austin) 1914-1919: Ava Allen (Director) 1919-1923: Rosa Wyatt (Director) 1923-1925: Lois Wier (Director) 1926-1929: Mary H. Hutchinson (Director) 1929-1930: Mary H. Hutchinson (Supervisor of Instruction Sessions) 1930-1931: Mildred McMillan 1931-1932: C. F. McElhinney (Director) 1932-1954: Mary H. Hutchinson 1955-1977: Maude Walker 1978-1982: Ronald Towery 1989-1991: Alma Turner 1994-2000: Rochelle Brown 2000-2004: Mike Haynie


7 Linear Feet (7 archival boxes)

Language of Materials



This collection is slated for permanent retention

Demonstration School Records
Created: Derek Webb Updated: Victoria Jones
Created 2017. Updated 2021.
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Beulah Culbertson Archives & Special Collections Repository

Fant Memorial Library
1100 College Ave, MUW-1625
Columbus Mississippi 39701